Asparagus Poem

asparagusYesterday I talked about acquiring a taste for a certain food…that food for me was asparagus.  It seems appropriate for me to lay down my asparagus poem.  It lives in my book Poems on Fruits & Odes to Veggies

Asparagus

Asparagus spears

Make asparagus pie,

Or asparagus quiche,

Or asparagus soup, or

Risotto. I don’t know

A thing you can’t do

With asparagus spears

Even put them in stew

Pan roasted asparagus perfect to please

Frittata?  De nada ­­– just add eggs and cheese.

Asparagus spears

Make asparagus salad,

Asparagus flan,

Or asparagus fry.

Packaged like pencils

In red, green or white

Put asparagus spears

On your menu tonight.

3 thoughts on “Asparagus Poem

Leave a Reply

