Happy Mother’s Day!

photo[2]Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there!! Great job women. Our family tradition is breakfast in bed for mom (me). My children are now teenagers and sleep way later than I do. I typically wake up, walk the dog, do some work, straighten the house, and basically wait until they wake up and send me back to bed.

When they were little, they would wake my husband up way before the sun rose, so they could get my breakfast going. Those were delightful days too. Their little feet puttering downstairs, their little hands cracking the eggs.  Their little voices giggling and fighting too-fighting over whom would carry the tray, crack the eggs, pick the flowers. One thing they didn’t fight over was the fruit salad. It has always been my youngest daughter’s job to make the fruit salad, filled with all my favorites, cantaloupe, watermelon, kiwi, strawberries, blueberries and bananas.

Here is the Cantaloupe Poem from my book Poems on Fruits & Odes to Veggies

“Cantaloupe today?” Asked the handsome Mr. Harry.
“Can’t elope today,” I said.  “I’m way too young to marry.”

Oh, my Mother’s Day  breakfast in bed has always been delicious; the eggs and fruit…but especially the memories.

What is your mother’s day tradition?

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. naomimgruer

    I love your walk down memory lane and humorous poem! Every year we do something different but every year is great if we can all be together. This year it felt extra special to have three kids home again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

