Eggplant

eggplantLet’s talk about eggplant for the rest of the week. We will discuss recipes, poems and art…let’s begin!

We are starting with a poem and illustration from my book Poems on Fruits & Odes to Veggies – Where Healthy Eating Starts With a Poem.

I love this silly poem…and when I first recited it to my children, some five years ago, they were worried that the last line in the poem would fool children into thinking eggplant really comes from eggs. So far, all the kids I read to get the joke.  Phew!

Eggplant

Crack an egg

Mix it up

Shells and yolk and all

Dig a hole

In the ground

Just as wide as tall

Pour the egg

In the hole

Using love and care

Cover it

Up with dirt

Water, sit and stare

See a leaf

Sprout right up

Don’t say that you can’t

Now you ask

What it is?

Naturally, eggplant

If you don’t believe me

Then go ask your mother

If you do believe me

I’ll tell you another

3 thoughts on “Eggplant

Leave a Reply

